RM Cartmel

R.M. Cartmel

Following a highly successful career as a GP, R.M. Cartmel returned to his first love, and took up writing again. He is now the author of five novels, with a sixth coming out in Spring 2019. He writes two very different series. The first, The Inspector Truchaud Mystery Series, features a French policeman based in Paris but closely involved in the family vineyard in Burgundy. Cartmel, a lifelong wine buff, introduces fascinating details of viticulture and wine-making alongside his well-plotted, charming crime cosies.

The first three novels in the Truchaud series are set in the small Burgundy village of Nuits-Saint-Georges. The fourth takes the French Inspector to the Rhineland vineyards of Boppard, to investigate the murder of a colleague.

The Richebourg Affair (published 2014)

The Charlemagne Connection (published 2015)

The Romanée Vintage (published 2017)

The German Crossing (to come 2019)

The second of R.M. Cartmel’s series is a long way from the ‘wine and crime’ Truchaud series, both in tone and geographically. So far the series comprises two novels set in Peterborough – one (first published under the name Michael Cayzer) describes the dark underbelly of the Peterborough we know today, the second a Peterborough forty years in the future.

50 Miles from Anywhere (2nd edition published 2018)

North Sea Rising (published 2018)